Tags

During the last couple of years there have been a lot of people and businesses that have gone bankrupt.  Here is Websters definition:

1 a : a person who has done any of the acts that by law entitle creditors to have his or her estate administered for their benefit

b : a person judicially declared subject to having his or her estate administered under the bankrupt laws for the benefit of creditors

c : a person who becomes insolvent


2 : a person who is completely lacking in a particular desirable quality or attribute

As much as this current bump in the economy has put people on edge we need to be more concerned about going spiritually bankrupt.  I see this as a very real thing that is occurring in many places and it concerns me for a variety of reasons.  First and most important is that being spiritually bankrupt means empty prayers and a broken connection between us and God.  If I spent only an hour or two, one day a week talking with my wife we wouldn’t have a good marriage.  Yet I am amazed at the number of people who act as if Sunday is quite enough time for God and they don’t bother with it during the week.  I am no saint in this concept either but I am putting in the effort to grow more.

Over the last several months Jill and I have spent a lot of time reading together out loud, usually after the girls have gone to bed (around 8:30).  We don’t necessarily have deep theological discussions but we believe God will speak and reveal what he wants to reveal so we try to stay on topic and discuss ways that it can apply to our daily life.  We are at a point now where we miss that time together when I have to work nights.  It is also an extra defense for Spiritual attack.

Psalm 119:11 I have stored up your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.

I feel stronger and more empowered when I have been in the word on a consistent basis.  No other way to explain it other than a constant dose of God’s written word does more for the soul and to defend against spiritual attack or temptation than anything else.  In addition to that we must remember as well. Of all people I know I am not the greatest at memorization.  It comes easy but it also leaves easy too when I don’t take time to review.  Because of that I try to remember key elements.  Such as the fruits of the Spirit from Galatians 5:

Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Gentleness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Self Control

How can we have these visible in our life if we can’t even remember them?  These are the things that set us apart and make us more like Christ.  It is hard to evaluate one’s self if you don’t have something to evaluate with.  So I have these 9 words memorized so that I can try to implement them in my life.  “If we live by the Spirit let us also walk by the Spirit.”  (Gal 5:25)  If the Spirit is in us then the Fruits of the Spirit will be evident but not if we are spiritually bankrupt.

Anything worth doing is worth doing even though it should take a lot of effort.  I am not perfect but I am finding an ever increasing need and desire for God’s Word to be in my heart.  My prayer today is that God will show me where I am spiritually deficient.

