You know, sometimes I think we forget exactly who God is and what He is capable of.  I don’t know if this is really a faith issue or a trust issue but we do not take His power seriously.  Jill and I started reading the Gospel of John together and we came to the passages where Jesus turned the water into wine.  I don’t always think we get the significance of this.  We are to busy trying to downplay the wine part that we lose the magnitude of the power Jesus had from God in this miracle.  That power still exists and we tend to forget it and instead rely on our own power and understanding.

My friend Lowell Kosak posted this scripture on his facebook status this morning and it got me thinking.

“Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong. Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.” Eccl. 5:1-2

Bottom line here… God is God and we are not so we would do well to be silent before him and not be hasty in the things we pray or in how we enter in to worship.  We have access to the same power, the same God that Jesus had when he turned the water into wine.  I know there have been too many times where I have not considered this or taken it seriously.  Yet because Jesus died on the cross he has connected us to the very same source of power.  I think of how many times I have prayed and jabbered on and on with out ever asking God’s thoughts and direction.  Even when I have asked I have not necessarily been silent and patient to humbly wait for the answer.

Lord, forgive me for the times I have forgotten your power and majesty.  Forgive me when I have not considered your will or sought your guidance in my everyday life.  Forgive me when I am not content to be silent in your presence to listen.

