Who is in control?? That is a question I think we must repeatedly ask ourselves. We may not want to admit it but we really aren’t in control of very much. We can control our actions and responses, beyond that it really is not ours to worry about. I am becoming convicted of this on more of a daily basis as Jill and I draw on God to meet our needs. As a human race we have become arrogant and proud. If we acknowledge God we come demanding answers expecting God to be at our beckoning call. The reality we face is that the earth and everything in it belongs to God do with as he sees fit. I love the song God With Us by MercyMe. The opening lines really sum up my thought process…”Who are we that you would be mindful of us, what do you see that’s worth looking our way?” Even as a prophet of God Isaiah proclaimed when having a vision being in the presence of God, “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts! (Isaiah 6:5) This is the guy the prophesied about the coming of the Messiah and he recognizes his place. My prayer today… Lord help to simply trust your goodness and not try to control the things I can’t. Forgive my pride and arrogance in not seeing you high enough and not recognizing my lowly place.

