Today is yard sale day so I am sitting outside in 68 degrees and sun watching people stroll into my yard and browse through the things we are trying to unload. But the thought that runs through my brain is that i smell grapes. The funning thing is that it isn’t really grapes… it is the big bunch of purple irises that are just to my right and the slight breeze is blowing the scent right back in my direction. It is sunny and beautiful so my stomach thinks that a big bunch of purple seedless grapes would be a fine snack while my brain says “dude… those are flowers not grapes”.

Things are not always as they seem and the senses can be fooled. Maybe that is why we are told to test the spirits. We are to pray and seek God’s wisdom and advice daily as we navigate the journey that he has placed before us. There have been numerous times in my life that I have taken matters in my own hands thinking that I can handle that or I can make the decision on my own. But God does have a greater wisdom and he want’s his children to call on him, to seek Him out through the Bible and to listen for the leading of the Holy Spirit. Galatians 5 lists the fruits of the spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self control. I know for certain that if something comes into my life and contradicts these characteristics… it needs to be evaluated. Things that can seem to be good can fool our human nature, but it certainly does not fool God nor the Holy Spirit whom Christ sent to be our guide, comforter, and encourager.

