Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Back to school…

When I was a kid, I hated going back to school.  We didn’t start until around the third or fourth week of August so that meant by August 15th, I was in official dislike mode for the month.  It meant summer was over and I really didn’t like that very much.  Truth be told, I don’t really enjoy the fact that my daughters head back to middle school and elementary school on August 13th.  But I have learned to love this month because it does mean our college students will be on campus.  That is awesome and I am excited to see what God will do this year on our campuses in South Bend!!

End of the year BBQ May 2012

In just a couple of weeks, our students will begin to arrive and we will be up to our elbows in students.  Many of them have already experienced the freedoms and challenges that come with life on campus.  But to the incoming freshmen, this will be a new thing.  Many of them were able to cruise through their last year of high school but now are faced with the unknown.  Where do I buy my own groceries?  Where can I go to do laundry?  Where is the cheapest gas?  How am I going to pay my school bill so that I can register for next semester?  Where am I going to fit in?  These are all stressors coupled with the pressure to make the grades and learning how to get up for class when no one is around to make you.  Building relationships, getting to know students when they arrive on campus can be a huge help.  Getting them connected into a safe community of students where they can grow spiritually and in maturity can make all the difference in the world.  It is the gospel of Jesus in action that opens the doors for  God to change lives.

