Tags

, , , , ,

ImageToday marks day two of our final push campaign to be fully funded. Leading up to the kickoff and the mailing of letters yesterday, I was a little bit antsy so I took May 1st as a personal retreat day or a PRD.  This is actually a requirement once per month of all Impact staff and I opted to take my PRD on May 1st to rest from several ministry events and to pray in preparation for the May 2nd mailing.  During my morning run on Wednesday I had the opportunity to reflect on how far God has brought us.  You see, support raising is about the journey and the partnership with brother’s and sister’s in Christ.  Sure, we have to have support or we don’t have a ministry, let alone eat but it is so much more than simply a financial thing.

I remember when I left my factory job in 2011 to begin full time support raising.  At the time I think we were at a mere 12 percent.  We had enough money stockpiled for a few months but that was it.  We lived as simply as we could and had to trust in God’s provision.  I think that was the hardest day of my faith when I walked out at the end of my last shift.  Now we are on the cusp of being fully funded!  So close I can almost taste it yet far enough that Jill and I haven’t been able to fully minister on campus.  Looking at the difference of who I was then compared to who I am now and I was simply stunned.  When we are in the midst of the journey, we don’t always see the power of God’s transforming work.  There is definitely more to be done on my spiritual journey but each day that passes in our final push campaign is a day that I eagerly look to see what God is going to do, trusting that he has things well in hand.  

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

