Tags

, , , ,

There are moments when you come to the sudden realization that God is clearly directing you to a specific passage of Scripture.  This past Monday I was on my way to South Bend for our Impact South Bend staff meeting.  As I crossed the railroad tracks in town, I caught a red blur in my peripheral vision.  Turns out it was a bright red cardinal flying along side the car about 10 feet away.  Immediately my thoughts turned to the passage that Jesus spoke about the birds of the air.  They neither sow or reap and yet God feeds them.  I let the thought sit, and then turned my attention to dialing into the support raising accountability call I had that morning.  On Tuesday, I was talking with my friend and co-worker in Impact, Brett Ricely, who had his push to be on campus last August.  Brett encouraged me to spend some time on Matthew 6 because he had found it beneficial during his final push.  On Thursday, as I met with a student and Matthew 6 came up again so I figured it was time to listen a little more closely to God’s leading. Two different people mentioned the same passage the “work” week started off with my thought on the same passage though I didn’t realize it at the time.

Support raising is not an easy task.  Ultimately we are at God’s grace and mercy to provide, and He always comes through.  The temptation is to worry when support doesn’t come in a way or time frame I think it should. During this final push for full support, my faith and trust in God is tested in so many different ways.  Matt 6:25-34 is a daily must read for me as Jill and I push forward in our endeavor to be fully funded.

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

